edited:
You can NOW visit Root & Sprout! www.RootandSprout.com
**************************
You all know how I am in the process of creating a new website for parents called Root and Sprout, right? I mean, I’ve only talked about it like half a dozen times here. And quite a lot of you are involved.
I registered my domain (www.RootandSprout.com) and web space/building tools through www.StartLogic.com. The launch date is June 1, 2008.
Got the details?
So why, then, when I opened up my gmail account this morning, was there a Google Alert from www.GoDaddy.com that says:
“Coming Soon! ****Root and Sprout**** Family~Community~Planet”
And get this. The URL in the browser says www.RootandSproutCo.com.
What.The.Heck?
Do I need to get on the ball and trademark Root and Sprout?
How do I even get started on a trademark?
I am prepared to take any and all legal action to protect MY idea!!
The last thing I want, after all my HARD WORK, is for someone else out there to be stealing my idea, thinking that he or she is going to start the SAME type of website with the SAME name!!!
Should I make the website go live NOW, even though it is not complete??
I am freaking out just a little (more like a lot), and I could really use some advice!!
***************************
Thanks to everyone who has commented thus far, both on and offline. I have since edited the “under construction” page when you click on www.RootandSprout.com to be a little less generic. It gives the philosophy, as well as the launch date.
I’ve sent my neighbor an email (he’s a web developer himself and knows a lot about small business practices) asking if he has a recommendation for a trademark attorney. My husband also has access to people-of-influence, and he plans on making a few calls on my behalf to find out what we need to do to protect my site and ideas.
What this has done, however, is made me realize just how serious about this website I am. It’s not some hobby that I am playing around at. I have BIG ideas for Root and Sprout. It may start off small, but give it a year to grow.

16 comments
Comments feed for this article
May 1, 2008 at 8:03 am
gary
wait, sombody is weaseling in on you????
May 1, 2008 at 9:10 am
mandy
I can surely see why your upset. I don’t know anything about trademarking so I can’t help you there. I do think you should keep going with what you are doing though. You’ve worked so hard on it and it’s a really good idea even if someone else is doing it. Your url is better too. Maybe people will forget the co and go straight to yours.
I don’t think I would launch early because I know you want it to be a certain way when you launch and you should wait until your ready. After clicking though, I would suggest that maybe you made a page that said what Root and Sprout is and when you are coming.
May 1, 2008 at 9:32 am
Debi
Oh my freakin’ word!!! I can most definitely understand why you’re upset! I would be pulling my hair out and crying and screaming and undoubtedly throwing up! Unfortunately, I don’t have a clue what to offer up as advice. I don’t know a thing about trademarks either. I think Mandy offered up some pretty good advice there.
Good luck, Melissa! And definitely let us know if there’s anything at all we can to help!
May 1, 2008 at 9:45 am
Trudi Topham
Hmm, cheeky. Whoever’s trying to jump your bandwagon (and, indeed, usurp it) has registered the domain via Domains by Proxy, which means that a WHOIS lookup isn’t remotely useful.
However, Domains by Proxy’s AUP clearly states:
“Prohibitions: Domains By Proxy® is not intended to be used to protect your identity if you:
…
• Violate the law or infringe a third party’s trademark or copyright;”
I strongy suggest that you contact Domains by Proxy using the details available here:
http://domainsbyproxy.com/popup/TrademarkComplaint.aspx
As it happens their example is appropriate in this case, as we already know GoDaddy are involved. You might do well to skip straight to http://help.godaddy.com/ and contacting them about this clearly dubious practice.
Hope that helps.
May 1, 2008 at 11:10 am
ramblingsbyreba
Ugh… I don’t have any advice for you (sorry), but this is distressing.
May 1, 2008 at 12:19 pm
Kathleen
You know how sometimes when you’re looking something up and you get the name just a bit wrong? You get taken to a page that looks just like rootandsproutco. It always says it’s under construction or down for maintenance. It has always seemed to me to be a way to re-direct traffic to domains registered to a particular company.
I have no idea if this is what actually goes on but it seems logical to me. Either that or someone is actually trying to benefit from your hard work, in which case your claws should come and and you should start breathing fire on them.
May 1, 2008 at 12:43 pm
Debbie Yost
I have no advice, but here is a link on a similar situation:
http://www.homebiznotes.com/the-mommy-blogging-wars-do-you-own-your-business-name/
I don’t know if it will help, but thought I would pass it on. I’m sorry this has happened to you. Good luck.
May 1, 2008 at 1:24 pm
kristi
Oh wow. This is insane. It sounds like you have a good start on protecting your intellectual property. I wish I could be of more help!
May 1, 2008 at 2:26 pm
Lisa k
I do so dislike spam… makes you wonder if they are piggy backing your site, or maybe someone else had an “idea” at the exact same time… doubtful!!!
May 1, 2008 at 2:52 pm
Arizona
patents and trademarks:
http://www.uspto.gov
May 1, 2008 at 4:26 pm
Sonya
You do have big ideas and they will grow for sure! I always believe in that. I think you are going to be a very successful entrepreneur.
May 1, 2008 at 9:28 pm
Corey
oh my word. I do hope you get this sorted out. I would be so ill.
I am glad that it solidified this for you. that is a very good thing.
hugs!
May 1, 2008 at 9:53 pm
Kim
Oh my hell! I cannot believe this! I don’t know the how-to’s or anything like that, but I would look into trademarking and I would go live with your site NOW. Like others have said, who’s gonna remember the “co” in that other address? Besides, anyone that looks at that website address and compares it to yours will be able to tell that the other one is clearly unoriginal, lazy, and a stinker! Shame on them!!
May 2, 2008 at 7:49 am
Vote!! « woolgatherings
[...] Very Sweet Bows ← Advice Please (HELP!!) [...]
May 2, 2008 at 2:58 pm
Dr. Susan
Lis, you should also register as many domains as you can think of that are similar to RootandSprout.com or that people may type in accidentally. This will also protect you significantly on the web…rootandsprout.net, various misspellings, etc. good luck!
May 3, 2008 at 2:16 am
JoLynn from The Fit Shack
I agree with Dr. Susan - register the similar domains. It could also just be a coincidence that the other one was registered, or they could have gotten the idea from reading your blog (?), I don’t know. What you could do next time is keep your ideas under wraps until you launch it - you never know who could be reading your blog.
I’d still go ahead with all of your plans though, don’t let the other site stop you.